Well, Here We Go!

(Originally posted February 1, 2014)

I am coming out of the Reiki closet.reiki-stones

Yes, my friends and relatives, I am a Reiki practitioner.  A Reiki Master, in fact.

My first experience with Reiki was when I fell from a ladder and broke three ribs and snapped the end off my right radius bone, right where it joins the wrist.  Hurt like heck, let me tell you.  I am SO VERY LUCKY that (1) my wife is an experienced nurse, and (2), she had not yet left for her shift that night.  So, she splinted my wrist, bundled me up, grabbed her nurse’s uniform, and we headed off on the nearly 50-mile trip to the hospital where she works.

They set the bone at the hospital, and as Lara works at the hospital and had taken me there on her way to work, I stayed overnight.  I’m glad I did, because I was one hurtin’ puppy.  Pain meds were good, but they will only give you so many, and besides, you DON’T want to take too many of those things.  They’re not good for you, no matter how good it may feel to be in La-La Land and far away from the pain.

One of the nurses at the hospital where Lara works is a Reiki practitioner, and she had compassion on me, coming into the room with Lara when I was hurting.  Without touching me, she seemed to be holding her hands over me in a blessing, for 3 or 4 minutes.  And a blessing it was… the pain in my ribs and arm eased.  Did the pain go completely away?  Nope.  But it eased enough for me to relax and get some rest.  And that is what I needed.

At the time, I had no idea what Reiki really was.  Oh, I had heard of it, but just figured it was some sort of New-Agey mumbo-jumbo stuff.  The experience in the hospital cured me of that misconception, but I still wanted to know more.  So, I began to research it, read more about it, and think about it.

The next year I engaged with someone to teach me about Reiki, and I learned a good bit, but didn’t get to complete the training and attunements. I still continued my study, convinced now more than ever, that this was something I wanted to learn–not only for myself, but to use to help others.

Finally, I was able to find other instructors and complete my training.  So, I am now fully trained and attuned in both Usui/Tibetan Reiki Ryoho as a Master, and in Practical Reiki TM as a Master.  In the middle of that journey, I have seen and experienced Reiki healing and energy both for myself and for others.  I can’t get enough of it!

Here’s the deal, though.  I have a lot of very religiously conservative friends and relatives.  I have this idea that some of them… maybe many of them… may consider Reiki to be something to avoid because it is not specifically mentioned in the Bible.

So, since this is my “coming out of the Reiki closet” post, I wish to tell you all:

  • Reiki comes from God, the One who created the cosmos and each cell within us

  • Reiki is NOT from the Devil, Satan, or any other nasty hellish creature you may wish to name

  • Reiki will not harm your body, your mind, or your soul

  • Reiki has a scientific basis, has been researched and is used in over 800 hospitals across the U.S.

If you are a Christian, I encourage you to check out this website for more information regarding Reiki, as well as taking a look at the page on this site, Reiki and Religion.

Leave a Reply

